Guests’ Best of SXSW 2014: Sylvan Esso, Jeremy Messersmith, Future Islands

Posted on March 26, 2014 by

0


Since I didn’t have an extensive SXSW experience this year, I’ve enlisted the help of a couple of friends to talk about some of their favorites.

Sadie’s Favorites:

Sylvan Esso (USA)
Genre: electronic folk/pop

On Thursday, March 12, we randomly decided to go to Holy Mountain because they had two stages, and we figured there’d be at least something we were into more than the other. We originally walked right by them because we wanted to see what was going on outside – you know, a case of FOMO (fear of missing out) ;). It was quickly clear that we should go back inside and enjoy this two-piece group whose unusual sound enthralled me. The singer, Amelia Meath (of Mountain Man), had a gentle voice that was soothing and warm, and Nick Sanbor (of Megafaun) added entrancing beats, creating a beautiful mellow, dance-y mix that was just right for me. After I heard “Coffee,” I was hooked. The energy the performers brought was like nothing else I saw at SX. Amelia projected a casual but energetic vibe; she danced and sang with such passion and pure abandon. These guys are by far my favorite discovery of the week!

Jeremy Messersmith (USA)
Genre: singer-songwriter, folk pop/rock

On the last day of SX we decided to check out the set at Waterloo Records. I knew I already liked Jake Bugg, who would be the final performer, but I was very happy to discover Jeremy Messersmith and his lovely band. His lyrics were funny, witty, and sometimes brutally honest. The sound was at times a little bit folky, indie, and even a little bit country. One of my favorites was the last song he played, “I Want to Be Your One Night Stand:” it was extremely reminiscent of the country songs I grew up with, but in a cuter style I appreciated much more than those songs of old. I must confess, I melt for a guy and his guitar.

Brian’s Favorites:

Future Islands (USA)
Genre: synth-pop

I [Berberuh] met up with Brian a couple times over beers during the week.  As a synth hobbyist, he definitely had a lot of good things to say about Future Islands’ live show – specifically Samuel T. Herring’s performance being one of the most passionate he’s ever seen.   Samuel ranges from high, sweet notes to raspy and hardcore, and puts on a distinctive stage performance.   Add that to good use of laser lights, with a crowd that “both dances and crowdsurfs…it’s awesome!”

Brian’s other favorites included Broken Bells and The Toadies.