John Bassett // Unearth (Out March 31)

Posted on March 25, 2014 by

2



From: Hastings, UK
Style: Prog-Rock, Folk, Acoustic, Psychedelic
Rating: 3.5/5 (with some songs being 4-4.5/5)

I wasn’t sure about this album at first, and while I don’t love the whole thing, it has provided the most interesting musical experience of 2014 so far. The value of this album for me is that Bassett has created something very original, exhibiting exciting possibilities for acoustic music. It’s his first acoustic release (he’s better known as the creator and producer of the UK prog-rock outfit KingBathmat), and it’s heartening to see someone trying to create something fresh, and being so successful at it.

His mix of discordant vocal harmonies and complex acoustic melodies create music reminiscent of mid-nineties prog-rock, with folky instrumental breaks of beautifully constructed layers of guitar. The record’s press release describes his style as a combination of ‘Progressive Rock and Psychedelic Folk’, which is probably the best way to describe it!

I’m not so big on the discordant voice, nor some of the lyrics. However I’m not a big lyrical person in general, and Basset’s lyrics ARE haunting and immediately honest, and gets more addictive with each listen. The sounds on the album ring clear and crisp and still create a textured, dream-like atmosphere of unsettling yet familiar melancholy.

I think that’s the real strength of this album. In my (very subjective and unprofessional) opinion, Bassett hasn’t used any compositions, sound-engineering methods or vocal techniques which popular indie bands have relied on to create ‘original’ atmospheres in most recent years. He’s pared everything back and has successfully constructed something that is honestly inventive while sounding deceptively simple.

So, while I don’t adore the whole album (although there are songs I love- Survival Rate, Unearth, Kylerhea, TV is God and Something That’s More Worthwhile), I admire what Bassett’s doing and I enjoyed being part of a conversation about the possibilities of music. Parts of the compositions and lyrics have stuck in my head and become more interesting with each listen. His first single, Stay Away From the Dark, is not, in my opinion, the best on the album. Check out the whole album for the entire thought-provoking experience.

Unearth has its worldwide release on the 31st March on Stereohead Records via Code 7.