Beirut – “Scenic World” & thoughts on my birthday

Posted on March 11, 2014 by

1


I unabashedly love birthdays, probably for the same reason I love Christmas: it’s a time when you get to do something special to show someone how much you love them.  For my own, I don’t put all the weight on one day.  Instead, I celebrate a full birthweek.

This year I’ve been putting extra pressure on myself to make it especially awesome, being the big 3-0 and all.  So far it hasn’t disappointed, starting on Sunday with a surreally fantastic surprise.  Just that in and of itself would’ve made the week! Then today while searching for Glass Animals in the SXSW parties, I came across another heart-busting surprise: D.D Dumbo is here!!! You may remember him as having my favorite single of 2013.  So, yes. Life may not be perfect, but I would have to be pretty crazy to complain.

How does this all relate to Beirut?  I was trying to think…I feel like I’ve come such a long way from 10, 5, even 2 years ago.  So what song encapsulates me, my life, my soul, right now?  And it’s gotta be this one. Of course it would be Beirut, as the all-time favorite artist I’ve alluded to previously.  It’s indie, folksy, laid back, exotic, and uplifting.  I have my own personal interpretation of the lyrics that may not be quite right, but it’s all subjective anyway, right?  So to me it’s about how circumstances (life, yourself) can bring you down, but you can always find restoration in the simple beautiful moments the world, and being alive, has to offer.  That’s what I really want – to be able to blot out the negative our minds invariably seek out by instead finding beauty and love in everyone and everything.  Okay, that’s a bit deeper than I’d intended…well, hey, if birthdays aren’t a time for contemplation, when is?